Blackpot Campin, Hanalee

By: itznu

Feb 04 2013

Tags: , ,

Category: boats, human life, Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.4
Focal Length:4.28mm
ISO:50
Shutter:1/5525 sec
Camera:iPhone 4S
goin out for one more ride

 

thunk! good thing it's plastic

thunk! good thing it’s plastic

 

teeny wave feels exciting to me. I hurtled forward at well over hull speed...

teeny wave feels exciting to me. I hurtled forward at well over hull speed…

 

wishing for a longer paddle

wishing for a longer paddle

 

beach by Witch's Brew. Nice snorkeling here

beach by Witch’s Brew. Nice snorkeling here

 

Famous Hanalei Bay

Famous Hanalei Bay

 

Rat bastard tried to take my coconut. It was too heavy

Rat bastard tried to take my coconut. It was too heavy

IMG_2250 IMG_2257 IMG_6490 IMG_6757 IMG_6762 IMG_6764I met an octopus today. I went “oh cool, a big octopus! I’ve never seen one in the wild before! He insisted he was not an octopus and I said “well what are ya then?” He goes “I’m a piece of crusty coral reef, see?” I said “gotya there, coral reefs don’t talk” He thought reel hard about this, then suddenly changed a bunch of colors, flashing through them quickly. They aren’t as smart as people say, clearly.

I got one of those plastic sit on top kayak/rafts to surf too. That was fun. It’s hard to shift your weight around fast enough to really surf well. I was leaning way out in front, then trying to center my weight, then move back. Usually I couldn’t get forward far enough and the wave slipped out from under me, but I got a few good rides out of waves to small for the surfers. I had to pick the uncrowded areas of Hanalei Bay because seriously, when you do finally get one of these boats to surf like a kayak, there’s really know way to turn or stop. I had to paddle frantically just to keep straight and not get ground up on the reef. I think it would be safer in a lighter boat. I wanna surf my canoe now.

We had a great time campin on the beach with Garandma and The New Girl. I even got some underwater snorkelpics! I’ll post them soon. 😀

Say stuff

